Support and Documentation

Blocking, archiving, and deleting users

The following table summarizes the impact of blocking, archiving, and deleting a user's account.

Account Status

User can log in

User's content visible on Internet

User's content in Brightspot database

Blocked

No

Yes

Yes

Archived

No

No

Yes

Deleted

No

No

No

The following sections describe how to apply one of the above statuses to a user account.

Blocking a user account

You may need to block an account, such as when a user does not comply with your site's terms and conditions. After blocking an account, the user cannot log in. However, content that the user contributed, such as public profile and reader comments, is still visible.

Procedure. To block a user's account:
  1. Search for and open the user's account in the content edit form.

  2. In the Authentication widget, from the Status list select Blocked.

    block-account.png
  3. Click Save.

Archiving a user account
Procedure. To archive a user's account:
  1. Search for and open the user's account in the content edit form.

  2. In the editorial toolbar, click |mi-more_horiz|, and then click Archive. A confirmation message appears.

  3. Click OK.

Brightspot archives the user's account. The user account and content that the user contributed, such as profile and reader comments, remain in Brightspot but are not visible to visitors.

Deleting a user account

Deleting a user account complies with GPDR's "right to be forgotten."

Procedure. To delete a user's account:
  1. Search for and open the user's account in the content edit form.

  2. In the editorial toolbar, click |mi-settings|, and then click Archive. A confirmation message appears.

  3. Click OK.

  4. In the Editorial Toolbar, click |mi-settings|, and then click Delete Permanently. A confirmation message appears.

  5. Click OK.

Brightspot deletes the user's account as well as any content that the user contributed.