Support and Documentation

Managing roles

Creating roles

Each role has an associated list of permissions to access features within Brightspot. For example, administrators typically have access to all sites, tabs, widgets, and the entire Navigation menu. Editors typically have access only to those sites, tabs, widgets, and items on the Navigation menu associated with the content they provide. (For more information about permissions, see Permissions and controls.)

Procedure. To create a role:
  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Users & Roles. The Roles widgets appears on the left side of the page.

  2. In the Roles widget, click New Tool Role. The New Tool Role widget appears.

    new-tool-role.png
  3. Using the following table as a reference, enter settings for the role.

  4. Click Save.

Editing roles
  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Users & Roles. The Roles widget appears on the left side of the page.

  2. In the Roles widget, click the role you want to edit.

  3. Using table Role settings as a reference, update the role's settings as required.

  4. Click Save.

. See also:
Setting a default role

The default role is the role assigned to new users by default.

Procedure. To set a default role:
  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Sites & Settings.

  2. In the Sites widget, select Global. The Edit Global widget appears.

  3. Under Main, from the Default Role list, select the default role.

    default-role.png
  4. Click Save.

Brightspot saves the default role, and uses it as the default when you create new users.