Support and Documentation

Configuring your profile

Your Brightspot profile determines the login credentials, available features, dashboard appearance, and other settings that keep you productive.

Procedure. To configure your profile:
  1. In the header, click your username, then click Profile. The Profile widget appears.

  2. Using the following tables as a reference, configure your profile.

  3. Click Save.

The following tables describe the available profile settings.

Table 27. Profile settings—Main tab

Field

Description

Name

Name associated with items you create. This name appears in various widgets in Brightspot, such as Recent Activity.

Email

Your email address.

Username

Username you use to log in to Brightspot.

Password

Password for logging in to Brightspot.

Avatar

Your avatar.

None—No avatar.

New Upload—Displays a field for uploading an avatar.

New URL—Displays a field for entering an avatar's URL.

Locale

Your language and location. The locale has two effects:

  • Brightspot's appearance changes to the selected language. For example, if you select Spanish, Brightspot appears in Spanish. If the selected language is not available, Brightspot appears in English. See also Customizing Brightspot's labels.

  • Brightspot uses associated dictionaries to spell-check your text. For details, see Spelling, dictionaries, and locales.

Time Zone

Your time zone.

Phone Number

Your phone number for receiving text messages from Brightspot. For information about how Brightspot sends and receives text messages, see Notifications.

Notifications

Delivery Methods

Available default delivery methods. For more information, see Delivery options

Subscriptions

Available default subscriptions. For more information, see Subscriptions.

Automatic Subscriptions

Automatic subscriptions are configured by your administrator. You can specify your default delivery methods for all of them, as well as override or disable on an individual basis.



Table 28. Profile settings—CMS Tab

Field

Description

Dashboard

Dashboard

Settings for your dashboard.

None—You use the dashboard associated with your role.

One Off—A one-off dashboard you create for your own use. For details, see One-off dashboards.

Shared—A shared dashboard. For details, see Shared dashboards.

For more information about dashboards, see Dashboard.

Edit Existing Content

List of existing items appearing in your Quick Start widget. For information about customizing the Quick Start widget, see Quick Start.

Content Templates

Global Defaults

List of available default templates. If blank, the default templates flow from your role's default templates (if any). See Setting content templates at the user level.

Global Extras

List of available extra templates. If blank, the extra templates flow from your role's extra templates (if any). See Setting content templates at the user level.

Site Specific Defaults

Overrides the default templates for individual sites. If blank, the site-specific default templates flow from your role's site-specific default templates (if any). See Setting content templates at the user level.

Site Specific Extras

Overrides the extra templates for individual sites. If blank, the site-specific extra templates flow from your role's site-specific extra templates (if any). See Setting content templates at the user level.

Advanced

Inline Editing

Items you can edit using the inline editor.

Inherited—Inline editing settings flow from the settings at the global site. For information about configuring settings at the global site, see Settings for the Global site.

Disabled—Inline editor is not available.

Only Main Content—You can edit the item but not its subsidiary items.

All Contents—You can edit the item and the subsidiary items. For example, if an article contains an author item, you can modify both the article and the author.

Return to Dashboard on Save

If marked, you automatically return to the dashboard after saving changes to an item.

Return to Dashboard on Workflow

If marked, you automatically return to the dashboard after adding an item to a workflow.

Disable Navigate Away Alert

If marked, you do not receive a message when leaving the content edit page without saving or publishing. The following illustration is an example of a navigate-away alert.

navigate-away-alert.png

Disable Work In Progress

Disables the work-in-progress feature. When toggled on, this feature maintains live backups of work if your Brightspot session unexpectedly ends. For more information, see Work in progress.

Global Theme Override

Displays previews using the selected theme. For additional details, see Previewing content in different themes.

Site Theme Overrides

Displays previews using the selected theme for the selected site. For additional details, see Previewing content in different themes.



Table 29. Profile settings—Assignment Desk tab

Field

Description

Team member Role

Assignment Desk role to which you belong. For information about Assignment Desk's team roles and members, see Team roles and members.

Contact Information

Contact points to which Brightspot sends Assignment Desk notifications. For details, see Assignment Desk notifications.

Notes

Status message.