Support and Documentation

Workflows

A workflow is a mechanism that enforces a sequence of operations through which an item moves from draft to publication. Each workflow is a set of statuses and transitions.

Creating workflows

You can create different workflows for different types of items. For example, the workflow for an article can include first draft, final draft, and publication. The workflow for an image can include initial upload, cropping, and adding metadata.

  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Workflows. A New Workflow widget appears.

  2. In the Name field, type a name for the workflow.

  3. In the Sites field, add sites to which the workflow applies (or leave blank to apply the workflow to all sites). For information about creating sites, see Creating sites.

  4. In the Content Types field, select the content types to which this workflow applies.

  5. In the Actions field, do the following:

    1. Click Add Status. A new status box appears.

    2. Type the name of the status.

    3. If this is the first status that you created, click Add Transition in the status box labeled "New." Otherwise, click Add Transition in the previous status box that you created.

    4. Drag your mouse over the status box you created in step a. A transition box appears between the two status boxes.

    5. In the transition box, type a name for the transition.

    6. Repeat steps a–e to add additional statuses and transitions.

  6. Click Save.

The following illustration is an example of a simple workflow for an article.

Simple workflow
Figure 55. Simple workflow


After you save a workflow—

  • Brightspot lists the workflow in the Workflows list.

  • Each time you create a new item for the workflow's content type, the Editorial Toolbar displays the workflow status and a Workflow button. When the button is clicked, the Workflow Widget appears.

  • Brightspot saves a draft for each status in the workflow. You can retrieve those drafts from the Revisions widget.

  • The item's current status appears in the Recent Activity and Unpublished Drafts widgets.

  • Items created before a workflow was created automatically enter the workflow—unless they are published. For example, if you saved a draft of an article, and your administrator later created the Simple workflow, your article can be submitted to the workflow.

For a details of an item's statuses as it transitions through a workflow, see Workflow status.

Modifying workflows
Procedure. To modify a workflow:
  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Workflows. The Workflow widget appears with a list of existing workflows.

  2. Click the workflow you want to modify. Brightspot displays the workflow in the Edit Workflow widget.

  3. Modify the workflow; see Creating workflows for details.

Archiving workflows

To archive a workflow, follow the procedure in Archiving content.

Transitioning an item through a workflow
Procedure. To transition an item through a workflow:
  1. Search for and open the item in the content edit page..

  2. Perform the required edit for the item's status. For example, if the item's status is Pending Review, perform an editorial review to accept or reject the article.

  3. In the Editorial Toolbar, click Workflow.A widget appears.

    workflow-widget-review-state.png
  4. In the Workflow widget, do the following:

    1. Enter an optional comment for the users or roles performing the next step in the workflow.

    2. Click the applicable transition.

Brightspot retains a draft of an item in each status. For example, referring to the illustration Simple workflow, Brightspot saves a copy of the article in the Pending Review, Approved, Rejected, and Published statuses. You can retrieve the draft of an item in each of its statuses; for details, see Revisions widget.

Introducing published content into a workflow

When you create a workflow for a particular content type, published items of that type are exempt from the workflow. However, you may want published items to go through a workflow, such as if you added a quality control step for spelling or graphic attributions.

  1. Search for the published item and open it in the content edit form.

  2. Do one of the following:

    In either case, the item enters the workflow associated with its type.

Limiting users' access to workflow transitions

You can limit users' access to certain workflow transitions. For example, you may want one group of users to do only content editing, and another group of users to do only proofreading. This level of access control is available only for roles, not for individual users.