Support and Documentation

Preventing overwrites with locking

Enabling content or field locking
Procedure. To enable content or field locking:
  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Sites & Settings.

  2. In the Sites widget, select Global. The Edit Global widget appears.

  3. In Main, under UI, scroll to Content Locking.

  4. Toggle on to enable Content locking, or toggle off to enable Field-level locking.

    Content locking enabled
    Figure 72. Content locking enabled


    Field-level locking enabled
    Figure 73. Field-level locking enabled


  5. Click Save.

Caution

Content and field locking also impact locking on the Edit Global and Edit Site widgets. For details, see Enabling site widget- or field-level locking.

Unlocking a locked item

Editors belonging to a role with the Content Unlock permission can unlock a locked item. (For information about setting this permission at the role level, see Editing roles and Limiting access to locking.)

Procedure. To unlock a locked item:
  1. In the lock message (see the illustration Lock message with option to unlock), click Unlock. Brightspot displays a confirmation message.

    ignore-content-lock.png
  2. Click OK. Brightspot unlocks the item for you, and locks the item for other editors.

  3. Edit the item as necessary.

  4. Complete your site's workflow and publish the item.

Content locking
Field-level locking
Unlocking a field
  1. In the locked field (see illustration Field-level locking with option to unlock), click Unlock. Brightspot displays a confirmation message.

    ignore-field-lock.png
  2. Click OK. Brightspot makes the field editable.

  3. Edit the field.

  4. Complete your site's workflow and publish the item.