Support and Documentation

Users

A user is anyone who has an account in Brightspot. Any individual editor, proofreader, photographer, admin, or developer is a user.

Note

In Brightspot, a user is different object than an author. While an author may also be a user in Brightspot, this is not always the case.

Below is a review of a user's fields:

  • Role: Allows you to associate a role to the user. If blank, the user will have full permissions.

  • Name: This is a required plain text field. The name the user enters on the front end during registration will be captured in this field.

  • Email: This is an optional plain text field. The email address the user enters on the front end during registration will be captured in this field.

  • Username: This is an optional field that allows you to enter a username for the user's login. If left blank, this field will default to the user's email address.

  • Password: Required field. The password the user enters on the front end during registration will be captured in this field (encoded). Available options are Keep Same or Change. Keep Same retains password entered on front end; Change enables a new password to be associated to this User.

  • Change Password On Log In: A toggle that determines whether the user will be required to change their password upon their next log in.

  • Avatar: Optional field. This field offers a dropdown option, for either none, new upload, or new URL. This can be a field for an Avatar, a picture of the User, or an icon that represents the User. This field will pull from the Image object. Upon selection of an image, that image thumbnail will appear within this field.

  • Locale: Used for setting the CMS language.

  • Time Zone: Used for setting the CMS time zone.

  • Phone Number: This is an optional text field that allows you to associate a phone number with the user.

  • Inline Editing: Allows a user to perform in-line editing. Can be inherited from global defaults, disabled, or allowed on either main content only or all content.

  • Content Locale: This locale is used for setting the locale on newly created content.

From the New Tool User page, you may also configure the user's dashboard, content templates, and notifications.