Support and Documentation

Content and field locking

In a collaborative environment, many editors may be working simultaneously on the same item, which opens the possibility of one editor overwriting the edits of another editor. To prevent conflicting edits, Brightspot locks content in one of two ways:

  • Content locking locks content at the item level. When the first editor (locking editor) opens an item in the content edit form, all fields are locked to any other editors until the item is released by the locking editor.

  • Field-level locking locks only the fields modified by an editor, allowing other editors to modify other fields in the content edit form. The editor who locks a field first is the locking editor, preventing other editors from accessing the field. For example:

    Action

    Result

    Andy is modifying the headline

    Headline field is locked to Alice and Arthur

    Alice is modifying the image

    Image field is locked to Andy and Arthur

    Arthur is modifying tags

    Tags field is locked to Andy and Alice

Content locking

Content locking locks content at the item level. The message area indicates that the item is locked and by whom. When an item is locked, only the locking editor can change the item. If another editor belongs to a role with permission to unlock a locked item, then the lock message includes an option to remove the lock.

Lock message
Figure 32. Lock message


Lock message with option to unlock
Figure 33. Lock message with option to unlock


Brightspot allows editors to remove another editor's content lock after a period of inactivity. For details about configuring the duration of inactivity, see the table Global settings–Main tab.

Field-level locking

Field-level locking locks only the fields modified by an editor on a first-come, first-served basis. For example, Worf opens an article and makes an edit in the sub-headline field. At this point, Brightspot locks the sub-headline field in favor of Worf. When Alice opens the same article, she sees a highlighted avatar in the editorial toolbar, indicating that another editor, Worf, is also working on the same item.

disable-lock-icon.svg

Whoever modifies a field first is the locking editor for the field, preventing the other editor from modifying it. For example, Alice tabs into the sub-headline field, and sees that the field is locked by Worf.

Field-level locking with option to unlock
Figure 34. Field-level locking with option to unlock


When Worf saves or publishes the item, Brightspot releases the field lock, and Alice can then edit the sub-headline field.

If another editor belongs to a role with permission to unlock a field, then the lock message includes an option to override the field lock (see previous illustration).