Support and Documentation

Workflows

This how-to guide provides detailed procedures for creating and using workflows.

How to create workflows
  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Workflows. A New Workflow widget appears.

  2. In the Name field, type a name for the workflow.

  3. In the Sites field, add sites to which the workflow applies (or leave blank to apply the workflow to all sites). For information about creating sites, see Creating sites.

  4. In the Content Types field, select the content types to which this workflow applies.

  5. In the Actions field, do the following:

    1. Click Add Status. A new status box appears.

    2. Type the name of the status.

    3. If this is the first status that you created, click Add Transition in the status box New. Otherwise, click Add Transition in the previous status box that you created.

    4. Drag your mouse over the status box you created in step a. A transition box appears between the two status boxes.

    5. In the transition box, type a name for the transition.

      Tip

      Transitions in the workflow widget appear in alphanumeric order, which may be different from the intuitive workflow order. To ensure the transitions appear in an intuitive workflow order, start a transition's name with a numeral. For an example, see the illustration Simple workflow.

    6. Repeat steps a–e to add additional statuses and transitions.

  6. Click Save.

Simple workflow
Figure 28. Simple workflow


How to modify workflows
  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Workflows. The Workflow widget appears with a list of existing workflows.

  2. Click the workflow you want to modify. Brightspot displays the workflow in the Edit Workflow widget.

  3. Modify the workflow.

How to archive workflows
  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Workflows. The Workflow widget appears with a list of existing workflows.

  2. Click the workflow you want to archive. Brightspot displays the workflow in the Edit Workflow widget.

  3. In bottom right, click Archive.

How to delete workflows
  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Workflows. The Workflow widget appears with a list of existing workflows.

  2. Click the archived workflow you want to delete. Brightspot displays the workflow in the Edit Workflow widget.

  3. In bottom right, click Delete Permanently.

How to transition assets through a workflow
  1. Search for and open the item in the content edit page.

  2. Perform the required edit for the item's status. For example, if the item's status is Editing, perform an editorial review to approve or reject the article.

  3. In the Editorial Toolbar, click Workflow. A widget appears.

    workflow-widget-review-state.png
  4. In the Workflow widget, do the following:

    1. Enter an optional comment for the users or roles performing the next step in the workflow.

    2. Click the applicable button to transition the workflow to the designated users or roles.

      workflow-widget-review-state.png
    3. Click the applicable transition.