Blocking, Archiving, and Deleting Users

The following table summarizes the impact of blocking, archiving, and deleting a user’s account.

Account Status User can log in User’s content visible on Internet User’s content in Brightspot database
Blocked No Yes Yes
Archived No No Yes
Deleted No No No

The following sections describe how to apply one of the above statuses to a user account.

Blocking a User Account

You may need to block an account, such as when a user does not comply with your site’s terms and conditions. After blocking an account, the user cannot log in. However, content that the user contributed, such as public profile and reader comments, is still visible.

To block a user’s account:

  1. Search for and open the user’s account in the content edit form.

  2. In the Authentication widget, from the Status list select Blocked.

    ../../../_images/block-account.png
  3. Click Save.

Archiving a User Account

  1. Search for and open the user’s account in the content edit form.
  2. In the Editorial toolbar, click settings, and then click Archive. A confirmation message appears.
  3. Click OK.

Brightspot archives the user’s account. The user account and content that the user contributed, such as profile and reader comments, remain in Brightspot but are not visible to visitors.

See also:

Deleting a User Account

Deleting a user account complies with GPDR’s “right to be forgotten.”

  1. Search for and open the user’s account in the content edit form.
  2. In the Editorial toolbar, click settings, and then click Archive. A confirmation message appears.
  3. Click OK.
  4. In the Editorial toolbar, click settings, and then click Delete Permanently. A confirmation message appears.
  5. Click OK.

Brightspot deletes the user’s account as well as any content that the user contributed.

See also: