Two-factor authentication at the user level

You can enable or disable two-factor authentication at the user level, which overrides any setting you made at the site level or at the role level.

Caution

Enabling two-factor authentication for a user locks that account until the user is able to enter an authentication password. Ensure that the user is trained and has an authenticator installed on a device before enabling two-factor authentication.

To enable or disable two-factor authentication at the user level:

  1. From the Navigation menu, select Admin > Users & Roles.
  2. In the Users widget, select the user for whom you want to enable or disable two-factor authentication. The Edit Tool User widget appears.
  3. Under Advanced, from the Two-Factor Authentication Required field, select one of the following:
    • Default—User’s two-factor authentication setting is the same as at the role level; if that level is set to Default, user’s setting is the same as at the site level.
    • Required—User needs two-factor authentication to log in.
    • Not Required—User does not need two-factor authentication to log in.
  4. Click Save.

Note

Individual users can enable two-factor authentication even if it is not required. For details, see Enabling or disabling two-factor authentication.

See also: