Managing Users

Creating Users

To create a user:

  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Users & Roles. The Users and Roles widgets appear on the left side of the page.
  2. In the Users widget, click New Tool User. The New Tool User widget appears.
  3. In the Main tab, and using the following table as a reference, make selections for the new user. Yellow shading appears for those fields whose selections you change.
  4. In the Dashboard tab, make selections to configure the user’s Dashboard.
  5. In the Advanced tab, make selections for security settings.
  6. In the Content Templates tab, make selections for content templates. For detailed information about content templates, see Content Templates.
  7. Click Save.

The following table describes the available user settings.

Field Description
Main tab
Role User’s role. If blank, user has access to all features. For an explanation of roles, see Managing Roles.
Name Name that appears on content created or edited by the user.
Email User’s email address. If blank, Brightspot applies the user’s username.
Username Name with which user logs in to Brightspot.
Password

User’s password.

  • Change—Displays fields for adding or changing a user’s password.
  • Keep Same—Retains current password. If you are creating a new user and select this option, the user will not be able to log in.
Avatar

User’s avatar.

  • None—No avatar associated with the user.
  • New Upload—Displays a field for uploading an avatar.
  • New URL—Displays a field for entering an avatar’s URL.
Locale User’s language and location. Brightspot’s appearance changes to the selected language. For example, if you select Spanish, Brightspot appears in Spanish. If the selected language is not available, Brightspot appears in English.
Time Zone User’s time zone.
Phone Number User’s phone number for receiving text messages.
Notify Via

Method by which user receives messages.

  • Email—User receives notifications at the address in the Email field.
  • Text Message—User receives text messages at the number in the Phone Number field.
Inline Editing

Items user can edit using the Inline Editor.

  • All Contents—User can edit the item and subsidiary items. For example, if an article contains an author item, the user can modify both the article and the author.
  • Only Main Content—User can edit the item but not its subsidiary items.
  • Disabled—Inline editor is not available.
Change Password on Log In Forces users to enter a new password upon next login. Use this feature if you manually changed the user’s password, or if you created a new user.
Dashboard tab
Dashboard

Settings for user’s Dashboard.

  • None—User sees the role-wide default Dashboard.
  • One Off—User can create a customized Dashboard. For details, see One-off Dashboards.
  • Shared—User has access to shared Dashboards. For details, see Shared Dashboards.

For more information about Dashboards, see Dashboard.

Edit Existing Contents Lists existing content the new user can edit. Click Add Item, and search for the required items. For more information about searching for items, see Search.
Advanced tab
Two Factor Authentication Required

Setting for two-factor authentication to log in to Brightspot.

  • Default—Setting is same as the user’s role.
  • Required—Two-factor authentication is required for this user.
  • Not Required—Two-factor authentication is not required for this user.

For more information, see Two-Factor Authentication.

Return To Dashboard On Save If marked, user automatically returns to Dashboard after saving changes to content.
Return to Dashboard On Workflow If marked, user automatically returns to Dashboard after adding content to a workflow.
Disable Navigate Away Alert If marked, user does not receive an alert when leaving the Content Edit Page.
Disable Code Mirror Rich Text Editor If marked, user uses legacy Rich Text Editor instead of the newer Code Mirror-based editor.
Disable Work In Progress Disables the work-in-progress feature. This feature maintains live backups of work if your Brightspot session unexpectedly ends.
Content Templates tab
Global Defaults List of Default Templates for all sites with which user is associated. If blank, same as user’s role.
Global Extras List of Extra Templates for all sites with which user is associated. If blank, same as user’s role.
Site Specific Defaults List of default templates for individual sites with which user is associated. If blank, same as user’s role.
Site Specific Extras List of extra templates for individual sites with which user is associated. If blank, same as user’s role.

Editing Users

To edit a user:

  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Users & Roles. The Users and Roles widgets appear on the left side of the page.
  2. In the Users widget, click in the Search field, and start typing the user’s name. Brightspot lists matching users.
  3. Click the user you want to edit.
  4. In the Main, Dashboard, and Advanced tabs, and using the above table, update the user’s settings as required.
  5. Click Save.