Understanding Permissions and Controls

A control is an item in Brightspot that you click or select, such as a widget, tab, checkbox, or drop-down list. Typically, not all users have access to all controls. For example, editors usually do not have access to the administrative-level controls for adding new users. Brightspot uses permissions to restrict the access a role or user has to various controls. The following sections describe those controls and how to use them.

Selecting Controls for Permissions

When assigning permissions, there are three ways to select controls: all, none, or some.

You can select permissions in the following ways:

  • All—The role has access to all controls within that feature. For example, if you select All in the Sites field, the role’s users have access to all sites.
  • All Except—The role has access to all controls except the ones you select. For example, if you select All Except in the Sites field, and then select the site Pancake Syrups, the role’s users have access to all sites except Pancake Syrups.
  • Only—The role has access to only those controls you select. For example, if you select Only in the Sites field, and then select the site Pancake Syrups, the role’s users have access to only the site Pancake Syrups.
  • None—The role has no access to the controls within that feature. For example, if you select None in the Sites field, the role’s users have access to no sites.

Referring to the following example, the role has access to all controls that satisfy the following criteria:

  • Associated with only the sites Neanderthal Recipes and Rudolfensis Recipes.
  • Do not appear in any area.
  • Appear on any widget.
../../../_images/contributor-controls.png

The following sections describe the various controls to which you can assign permissions.

Sites Control

The sites control limits the sites to which a role has access. For example, a Spanish-speaking role might be limited to working on the Spanish and English sites, not French and German sites.

../../../_images/sites-control.png

The sites control is useful for controlling access to the Global site—a site that sets many defaults for all Brightspot users.

Areas Control

The areas control contains the following sub-controls:

../../../_images/areas-control.png

Depending on your version of Brightspot, other area controls may be available.

Widgets Control

The widgets control limits access to widgets in the content edit page.

../../../_images/widgets-control.png

By limiting widgets, you can prevent certain roles from scheduling content, setting URLs, or viewing previous revisions.

UI Control

The UI control specifies if content locking and field-level locking is available to a role.

../../../_images/ui-control.png

Tabs Control

The tabs control specifies which tabs are available throughout Brightspot. For example, referring to the following illustration—

  • The user or role has access to the Dashboard and Notifications tabs (typically available in the Edit Tool User, Edit Tool Role, and Profile widgets).
  • The user or role does not have access to the Advanced, Debug, and Tabs tabs (typically available in the Edit Tool User, Edit Tool Role, and Edit Global widgets).
../../../_images/tabs-control.png

See also:

Types Control

The types control limits access to controls on the content edit page by content type. The following illustration is an example of limiting access to reading, writing, bulk editing, and bulk workflow progression of articles.

../../../_images/types-control.png

You can also remove access to fields associated with a content type. In the previous illustration, Some Article is selected and the internal name headline appears in the Exclude field, implying that there is no access to the headline field in the content edit form.