Managing Users

Creating Users

To create a user:

  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Users & Roles. The Users and Roles widgets appear on the left side of the page.

  2. In the Users widget, click New Tool User. The New Tool User widget appears. (Depending on the plugins installed in your version of Brightspot, you may see additional fields.)

    ../../../_images/new-tool-user.png
  3. Under Main, and using the table User Settings as a reference, enter settings for the user.

  4. Click Save.

The following table describes the available user settings.

User Settings
Field Description
Main tab
Role User’s role. If blank, user has no role and therefore has access to all features. For an explanation of roles, see Managing Roles.
Name Name associated with content created or edited by the user. This name appears in various widgets in Brightspot, such as Recent Activity.
Email User’s email address. If blank, Brightspot applies the user’s username.
Username Name with which user logs in to Brightspot.
Password

User’s password.

  • Change—Displays fields for adding or changing a user’s password.
  • Keep Same—Retains current password. If you are creating a new user and select this option, the user will not be able to log in.
Avatar

User’s avatar.

  • None—No avatar associated with the user.
  • New Upload—Displays a field for uploading an avatar.
  • New URL—Displays a field for entering an avatar’s URL.
Locale User’s language and location. Brightspot’s appearance changes to the selected language. For example, if you select Spanish, Brightspot appears in Spanish. If the selected language is not available, Brightspot appears in English.
Time Zone User’s time zone.
Phone Number User’s phone number for receiving text messages from Brightspot. For information about sending text messages, see Notifications.
Inline Editing

Items user can edit using the Inline Editor.

  • Inherited—Inline editing settings flow from the settings at the global site. For information about making settings at the global site, see Settings for the Global Site.
  • Disabled—Inline editor is not available.
  • Only Main Content—User can edit the item but not its subsidiary items.
  • All Contents—User can edit the item and subsidiary items. For example, if an article contains an author item, the user can modify both the article and the author.
Change Password on Log In Forces users to enter a new password upon next login. Use this feature if you manually changed the user’s password, or if you created a new user.
Content Templates
Global Defaults List of Default Templates available to the user. If blank, user inherits the role’s default templates (if any). See Setting Content Templates at the User Level.
Global Extras List of Extra Templates available to the user. If blank, user inherits the role’s extra templates (if any). See Setting Content Templates at the User Level.
Site Specific Defaults Overrides default templates for individual sites. If blank, user inherits the role’s site-specific default templates (if any). See Setting Content Templates at the User Level.
Site Specific Extras Overrides extra templates for individual sites. If blank, user inherits the role’s extra templates (if any). See Setting Content Templates at the User Level.
Dashboard tab
Dashboard

Settings for user’s Dashboard.

  • None—User sees the role-wide default Dashboard.
  • One Off—User can create a customized Dashboard. For details, see One-off Dashboards.
  • Shared—User has access to shared Dashboards. For details, see Shared Dashboards.

For more information about Dashboards, see Dashboard.

Edit Existing Contents List of existing content items appearing in this role’s Quick Start widget. To add content, click add_circle_outline and use the search panel to retrieve the desired items. For more information about searching for items, see Search.
Advanced tab
Two Factor Authentication Required

Setting for two-factor authentication to log in to Brightspot.

  • Default—Setting is same as the user’s role.
  • Required—Two-factor authentication is required for this user.
  • Not Required—Two-factor authentication is not required for this user.

For more information, see Two-Factor Authentication.

Return To Dashboard On Save If marked, user automatically returns to Dashboard after saving changes to content.
Return to Dashboard On Workflow If marked, user automatically returns to Dashboard after adding content to a workflow.
Disable Navigate Away Alert

If marked, user does not receive a message when leaving the Content Edit Page without saving or publishing. The following illustration is an example of a navigate-away alert.

../../../_images/navigate-away-alert.png
Enable Prose Mirror Rich Text Editor If marked, user uses ProseMirror rich-text editor; if clear, user uses legacy rich-text editor.
Disable Work In Progress Disables the work-in-progress feature. When enabled, this feature maintains live backups of work if your Brightspot session unexpectedly ends.
Notifications tab
Delivery Options Default delivery options available to this user. For more information, see Delivery Options.
Subscriptions Default subscriptions available to this user. For more information, see Subscriptions and Events.
Theme tab  
Version Alternative version of a theme. This setting impacts what the user sees when previewing content; when publishing content, Brightspot uses the site’s theme. For more information about alternative versions of themes, see Testing Development Versions of a Theme.
Global Theme Override Theme serving as the user’s top-level global theme. All theme settings flow down from this theme unless overridden at a lower level. Regardless, when publishing content, Brightspot uses the site theme’s settings. For more information, see Overriding Themes at the User Level.
Site Theme Overrides Overrides the theme applied to a site. This setting impacts what the user sees when previewing content; when publishing content, Brightspot uses the site’s theme. For information about associating a theme with a site, see Creating Sites.

Editing Users

To edit a user:

  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Users & Roles. The Users and Roles widgets appear on the left side of the page.
  2. In the Users widget, click in the Search field, and start typing the user’s name. Brightspot lists matching users.
  3. Click the user you want to edit.
  4. In the Main, Dashboard, and Advanced tabs, and using the table User Settings as a reference, update the user’s settings as required.
  5. Click Save.

Viewing and Modifying Your Profile

To view and modify your profile:

  • In the header, click your username. The Profile widget appears.
../../../_images/open-profile-settings.png

Use the table User Settings as a reference to update your profile.

See also: