Managing roles

Grouping users into roles is an efficient way of managing those users’ permissions. For example, if you have 30 editors, 10 proofreaders, and 5 photographers, you can combine them into three roles and configure three sets of permissions for the roles—instead of configuring permissions for 45 individual users.

Creating roles

Each role has an associated list of permissions to access features within Brightspot. For example, administrators typically have access to all sites, tabs, widgets, and the entire Navigation menu. Editors typically have access only to those sites, tabs, widgets, and items on the Navigation menu associated with the content they provide. (For more information about permissions, see Permissions and controls.)

To create a role:

  1. From the Navigation menu, select Admin > Users & Roles. The Roles widgets appears on the left side of the page.

    ../../../_images/roles-widget.png
  2. In the Roles widget, click New Tool Role. The New Tool Role widget appears.

    ../../../_images/new-tool-role.png
  3. Using the table Role Settings as a reference, enter settings for the role.

  4. Click Save.

Role Settings
Field Description
Main tab
Name Name of role.
Sites Specifies the sites to which the role as access. For details, see Limiting access to sites.
Areas Specifies the selections in the Navigation menu available to the role. For details, see Limiting access to the Navigation menu.
UI Specifies the available options for unlocking content. For details, see Limiting access to locking.
Types Specifies the content types available to the role. For details, see Limiting access to content types.
Site Specific Permissions Applies site-specific permissions for the role. For details, see Site-specific permissions.
Content Templates
Global Defaults List of default templates with which role is associated.
Global Extras List of extra templates with which role is associated.
Site Specific Defaults Configures default templates for individual sites to which the role has access.
Site Specific Extras Configures default templates for individual sites to which the role has access.
Dashboard tab
Dashboard

Settings for role’s dashboard.

None—Role sees the system-wide default dashboard.

One Off—Role can create a customized dashboard. For details, see One-off dashboards.

Shared—Role has access to shared dashboards. For details, see Shared dashboards.

For more information about dashboards, see Dashboard.

Quick Start Settings

List of content types and assets appearing in this role’s Quick Start widget.

None—Role sees the system-wide Quick Start widget.

Set—Role sees the specified content types in the Quick Start widget. Role also sees existing assets if any are specified in the Edit Existing Contents field.

If you specify a content type to which the role has no access—as described in Limiting access to content types—then that content type does not appear in the Quick Start widget.

If no content types are specified, then all content types to which the role has access appear in the Quick Start widget.

For information about customizing the Quick Start widget, see Quick Start.

Advanced tab
Two-factor authentication required

Setting for two-factor authentication to log in to Brightspot.

Default—Setting is the default as set by the administrator.

Required—All users with this role need two-factor authentication to log into Brightspot.

Not Required—No users with this role need two-factor authentication to log in to Brightspot.

For more information, see Two Factor Authentication.

Notifications tab
Delivery Options Default delivery options available to this role. For more information, see Delivery options.
Subscriptions Default subscriptions available to this role. For more information, see Subscriptions and events.

See also:

Editing roles

To edit a role:

  1. From the Navigation menu, select Admin > Users & Roles. The Roles widget appears on the left side of the page.
  2. In the Roles widget, click the role you want to edit.
  3. Using table Role Settings as a reference, update the role’s settings as required.
  4. Click Save.

See also:

Setting a default role

The default role is the role assigned to new users by default.

To set the default role:

  1. From the Navigation menu, select Admin > Sites & Settings.

  2. In the Sites widget, select Global. The Edit Global widget appears.

  3. Under Main, from the Default Role list, select the default role.

    ../../../_images/default-role.png
  4. Click Save.

Brightspot saves the default role, and uses it as the default when you create new users.