Configuring your profile

Your Brightspot profile determines the login credentials, available features, dashboard appearance, and other settings that keep you productive.

To configure your profile:

  1. In the header, click your username, then click Profile. The Profile widget appears.
  2. Using the table Profile settings as a reference, configure your profile.
  3. Click Save.

The following table describes the available profile settings.

Profile settings
Field Description
Main tab
Name Name associated with items you create. This name appears in various widgets in Brightspot, such as Recent Activity.
Email Your email address.
Username Username you use to log in to Brightspot.
Password Password for logging in to Brightspot.
Avatar

Your avatar.

None—No avatar.

New Upload—Displays a field for uploading an avatar.

New URL—Displays a field for entering an avatar’s URL.

Locale Your language and location. Brightspot’s appearance changes to the selected language. For example, if you select Spanish, Brightspot appears in Spanish. If the selected language is not available, Brightspot appears in English. See also Customizing Brightspot’s labels.
Time Zone Your time zone.
Phone Number Your phone number for receiving text messages from Brightspot. For information about how Brightspot sends and receives text messages, see Notifications.
Inline Editing

Items you can edit using the inline editor.

Inherited—Inline editing settings flow from the settings at the global site. For information about configuring settings at the global site, see Settings for the Global site.

Disabled—Inline editor is not available.

Only Main Content—You can edit the item but not its subsidiary items.

All Contents—You can edit the item and the subsidiary items. For example, if an article contains an author item, you can modify both the article and the author.

Slack Username Username for logging in to Slack. Required for delivering notifications over Slack. For more information, see Slack notifications.
Content Templates
Global Defaults List of available default templates. If blank, the default templates flow from your role’s default templates (if any). See Setting content templates at the user level.
Global Extras List of available extra templates. If blank, the extra templates flow from your role’s extra templates (if any). See Setting content templates at the user level.
Site Specific Defaults Overrides the default templates for individual sites. If blank, the site-specific default templates flow from your role’s site-specific default templates (if any). See Setting content templates at the user level.
Site Specific Extras Overrides the extra templates for individual sites. If blank, the site-specific extra templates flow from your role’s site-specific extra templates (if any). See Setting content templates at the user level.
Dashboard tab
Dashboard

Settings for your dashboard.

None—You use the dashboard associated with your role.

One Off—A one-off dashboard you create for your own use. For details, see One-off dashboards.

Shared—A shared dashboard. For details, see Shared dashboards.

For more information about dashboards, see Dashboard.

Edit Existing Content List of existing items appearing in your Quick Start widget. For information about customizing the Quick Start widget, see Quick Start.
Advanced tab
Two-Factor Authentication Required

Setting for two-factor authentication to log in to Brightspot.

Default—Setting is the same as your role.

Required—You must use two-factor authentication to log in.

Not Required—You do not need two-factor authentication to log in.

For more information, see Two-factor authentication.

Return to Dashboard on Save If marked, you automatically return to the dashboard after saving changes to an item.
Return to Dashboard on Workflow If marked, you automatically return to the dashboard after adding an item to a workflow.
Disable Navigate Away Alert

If marked, you do not receive a message when leaving the content edit page without saving or publishing. The following illustration is an example of a navigate-away alert.

../../../_images/navigate-away-alert.png
Enable Code Mirror Rich Text Editor If toggled on, Brightspot uses the previous CodeMirror rich-text editor; if toggled off, Brightspot uses the more current ProseMirror rich-text editor.
Disable Work In Progress Disables the work-in-progress feature. When toggled on, this feature maintains live backups of work if your Brightspot session unexpectedly ends. For more information, see Work in progress.
Notifications tab
Delivery Options Available default delivery options. For more information, see Delivery options
Subscriptions Available default subscriptions. For more information, see Subscriptions.
Theme tab
Global Theme Override Displays previews using the selected theme. For additional details, see Previewing content in different themes.
Site Theme Overrides Displays previews using the selected theme for the selected site. For additional details, see Previewing content in different themes.
Overrides
Hide From Search Results When visitors search for items in your site, Brightspot does not list items you published.