Working with Drafts

You can create multiple drafts of an item, such as weekday and weekend versions of an article. A draft can be edited, previewed, published, or deleted. A draft remains in that state until you publish it, at which time it goes live immediately, replacing the most recently published item. As a draft transitions through a Workflow, each state is saved as a Revision.

Note

When working with draft revisions, make sure that you save edits before navigating away from the Content Edit page or closing the browser tab.

Creating Drafts

On the Content Edit page, the Revisions widget includes all drafts in the total list of revisions for a particular content item. On the main Dashboard page, the Unpublished Drafts widget lists all of unpublished drafts for every content item on the site.

../../../_images/unpub-drafts1.jpg

You can create drafts from new content that has not yet been published, or from currently published (live) content.

To create drafts from new content:

  1. Use the Publish widget to save new content in an initial draft.

    ../../../_images/pubwfTab.png

    You can publish the initial draft or route it through a workflow. Or you can use the Revisions widget to create additional drafts, which can then be compared to and merged into the initial draft.

  2. Use the Revisions widget to create a second draft and to give it a name.

    With new, unpublished content, the Content Editor provides a side-by-side comparison between the initial draft and any additional draft that is currently selected (not shown). Additionally, the Publish widget provides the option of merging the content of an additional draft with the content of the initial draft.

    ../../../_images/pubRevisionsWidget.png

To create drafts from live content:

  1. From the Revisions widget, select Live.
  2. Use either the Publish widget or the Revisions widget to create a new draft.

    Publish widget:

    1. Modify the live revision.
    2. In the Publish widget, click Save Draft.

    Revisions widget:

    1. In the Revisions widget, click New Draft and name the draft. The new draft is created with the content of the live revision.
    2. Modify the draft.
    3. In the Publish widget, click Save.

The following example indicates that two post-publication drafts have been created, one with the Publish widget and the other with the Revisions widget.

../../../_images/pubRevisionsWidget2.png

Note that with previously published content, the Content Editor provides a side-by-side comparison between the live revision and the draft that is currently selected.

Viewing a Draft

  1. Search for and open the item in the content edit page.

  2. In the Revisions widget, under Drafts or Past, click the draft you want to view.

    ../../../_images/revision-in-publish-widget.svg

Brightspot displays the draft in the content edit form.

Merging Drafts

You can merge a draft into an initial draft. This feature is available if all of the following are true:

  • A workflow is available for the drafts you want to merge. For example, if you want to merge drafts of an article, ensure there is a workflow for articles. (You can review your organization’s workflows by clicking Navigation Menu > Admin > Workflows.)
  • You have published neither the item’s initial draft nor the draft you want to merge into it.
  1. Retrieve the draft of the item you want to merge into the initial draft as described in Viewing a Draft. Brightspot displays the draft in the Content Edit Form.

  2. Optional. Review the changes between the current draft and the initial draft by clicking the Side By Side tab.

    ../../../_images/side-by-side.png
  3. In the Publish widget, under Workflow, click Merge with Initial Draft.

    ../../../_images/merge-with-initial-draft.svg

Brightspot merges the draft into the initial draft.

Deleting Drafts

  1. Search for and open the item in the Content Edit Page. The Revisions widget appears listing all of the item’s drafts.
  2. In the Revisions widget, click the draft you want to delete. The draft appears in the content edit form.
  3. In the Publish widget, click Delete Draft.

Brightspot deletes the draft, and removes associated revisions from the Revisions widget.