Revisions

Revisions are post-published versions of an asset. That is, after the initial publication of the draft, all subsequent versions of the asset are revisions. Revisions remain in that state until published or deleted. All versions of an asset — current and past drafts and revisions — are tracked by the Revisions Widget.

You can create multiple revisions of an asset. In addition, you can:

Revisions Widget

After you save the first draft of an asset, Brightspot displays the Revisions widget in the Content Edit Page. All drafts (pre-published versions), all revisions not yet published, and all previously published revisions are listed in the Revisions widget. For each draft or revision version, the Revisions widget lists the time it was saved and the user who saved it.

../../../_images/revisions-widget-overview.png

The following table describes the Revisions widget’s sections.

Section Description

(top)

Version status of the asset:

  • Live for a published revision.
  • Draft for unpublished asset. If draft is associated with a workflow, then the workflow state is displayed, such as Pending Review or Approved.

Scheduled

Revisions with future publication date. (For information about scheduling items for publication, see Scheduled Publishing.) When the publication time arrives—

  • The revision becomes the first one listed in the Revisions widget (listed as Live).
  • The revision no longer appears under Scheduled.
In Progress Revisions not yet published. A revision is identified by its creation timestamp. If it’s a named revision, then descriptive text is also included.
Named Past Previously published versions that were renamed.

Past

A running list of drafts (pre-published versions) and revisions (published versions) in chronological order. For drafts that are associated with a workflow, the workflow statuses are displayed, for example:

../../../_images/revisions-workflow-states.png

Creating Revisions

After a draft is initially published, you can create revisions based on live content or on previously published content.

  1. Create a revision.

    To create a revision based on live content, you can use either the Tools menu or the Revisions widget, the latter of which creates named revisions.

    • In the Tools menu settings, click Start Revision.
    • In the Revisions widget, click New Revision and name the revision.

    To create a revision based on previously published content:

    1. In the Revisions widget, under the Past section, click a previously published revision.

      ../../../_images/revisions-widget-past-revisions.png

      The Editorial toolbar reflects the selection of the past revision.

    2. Click settings, then click Start Revision.

    The new revision is added to the Revisions widget, and the Side By Side tab appears in the content edit form.

  2. Using the Edit tab in the content edit form, modify the new revision.

  3. Click settings, then click Save.

    With the Side by Side tab, you can compare the differences between the new revision and the currently published or previously published content.

  4. If a workflow is associated with the content type, submit the revision into the workflow.

The following example shows that a revision is in progress.

../../../_images/revisions-widget.png

Revisions are also listed in the Recent Activity widget on the Dashboard, if the widget’s filter is set to show revisions.

Updating Existing Revisions

  1. Search for and open the asset in the Content Edit Page. The Revisions widget appears, listing all of the asset’s revisions.

    ../../../_images/revisions-widget-revisions-listing.png
  2. Click the revision you want to retrieve. The revision appears in the Content Edit Form.

    With the Side by Side tab, you can compare the differences between the new revision and the currently published live content.

  3. Under the Edit tab, modify the content.

  4. Click settings, then click Save.

Comparing Revisions

You can compare a revision to the current live content in the Side By Side tab in the content edit form.

  1. In the Revisions widget, click the revision that you want to compare to the live content version. In the Side By Side tab, the selected revision is shown on the left and the live content on the right.

    The following example shows the differences between the live content and the selected revision. Note, however, that if you created a new revision and have not yet modified it, the Side By Side tab will show no differences between the revision and the live content.

    ../../../_images/compare-revisions.png
  2. To update the revision, do the following:

    1. Under the Edit tab, enter your updates.
    2. Click settings, then click Save. The Side By Side tab reflects the differences between the revision and the live content.

Deleting Revisions

You can delete in-progress revisions (revisions that are not yet published).

../../../_images/revision-delete.png
  1. In the Revisions widget, under the In Progress section, click the revision that you want to delete.
  2. Click settings, then click Delete Revision.

Publishing a Draft or Revision

To publish a draft or revision immediately to a site, use the Publish button on the Editorial toolbar.

../../../_images/editorial-toolbar-publish-button.png

If the draft or revision is associated with a workflow, the Publish button is located in the Workflow widget.

../../../_images/first-draft-wf.png

You can also schedule drafts or revisions to go live at a future date. For more information, see Scheduled Publishing.

If you are working with a multi-site version of Brightspot, you can publish to multiple sites at once; for details, see Publishing to Multiple Sites.

Naming Revisions

You can name past versions that were published (historical versions in the Draft state cannot be named). By default, past drafts and revisions are identified with a timestamp and user name. Named drafts and revisions can be renamed.

../../../_images/revision-rename.png
  1. In the Revisions widget, click the revision you want to name. A status bar appears at the top of the content edit form.

    ../../../_images/status-bar-rename.png
  2. Click Name Revision.

  3. In the Name Revision text box, type a descriptive name for the revision and click Save.

The named revision appears in the Named Past section of the Revisions widget.