Revisions

After you publish an asset for the first time, every subsequent version of that asset is a revision. The Revisions widget lists your currently published and previous revisions.

See also:

Revisions widget

After you save the first draft of an asset, Brightspot displays the Revisions widget in the content edit page. This widget lists all drafts, the currently live version, revisions that are not yet published, and previously published revisions. For each version, the Revisions widget lists the time it was saved and the user who saved it.

../../../../_images/revisions-widget-overview.svg

Revisions widget

The following table describes the Revisions widget’s sections.

Section Description
(top)

Version status of the asset:

  • Live for a published revision.
  • Draft for an unpublished asset. If a draft is associated with a workflow, then the workflow state is displayed, such as Pending Review or Approved.
Scheduled

Revisions with a future publication date. (For information about scheduling assets for publication, see Scheduled publishing.) When the publication time arrives—

  • The revision becomes the first one listed in the Revisions widget (listed as Live).
  • The revision no longer appears under Scheduled.
In Progress Revisions that are not yet published. A revision is identified by its creation timestamp and, if available, its name.
Named Past Previously published versions that were renamed.
Past A running list of drafts and revisions in chronological order.

Creating revisions

After you publish an asset, you can create revisions to the published version, and you can also create revisions from past revisions.

To create a revision:

  1. Do one of the following:

    • Create a revision from the currently live version—In the Revisions widget, click Live.
    • Create a revision from a previous revision—In the Revisions widget, under Named Past or Past, click the revision on which you want to base the new revision.

    Brightspot loads the selected revision in the content edit form.

  2. In the Revisions widget, click New Revision. The New Revision widget appears.

    ../../../../_images/new-revision.png
  3. Type a name for the revision and click Create. Brightspot adds the new revision under In Progress in the Revisions widget (see the illustration New revision in content edit form).

  4. Under Edit, modify the revision. You can compare the new revision with the previous one under the Side By Side tab.

  5. Click Publish.

The following example shows that a revision is in progress.

../../../../_images/new-revision.svg

New revision in content edit form

Updating in-progress revisions

You can update a revision prior to its publication. If you want to issue a new revision to one that is already published, see Creating revisions.

To update an in-progress revision:

  1. Search for and open the asset in the content edit page. The Revisions widget lists the available in-progress revisions, if any. For an example, see the illustration Revisions widget.
  2. Click the revision you want to update. Brightspot loads the revision in the content edit form.
  3. Under Edit, modify the revision. You can compare the new revision with the previous one under the Side By Side tab.
  4. Click Publish.

Comparing revisions

You can compare a revision to the currently live revision.

To compare revisions:

  1. Search for and open the asset in the content edit page. The Revisions widget lists the available revisions.
  2. In the Revisions widget, select the revision against which you want to compare the latest revision.

Brightspot opens the revision in the content edit form, and displays the differences between it and the currently live revision in the Side by Side tab.

../../../../_images/comparing-revision-to-live.svg

See also:

Deleting revisions

You can delete in-progress revisions.

To delete a revision:

  1. Search for and open the asset in the content edit page.
  2. In the Revisions widget, under In Progress, select the revision that you want to delete. Brightspot loads the revision in the content edit form.
  3. Click settings, then click Delete Revision.
  4. In the confirmation prompt, click OK.

Publishing a draft or revision

You can immediately publish any draft or in-progress revision. The following procedure is similar for starting a workflow for a draft or revision.

To publish a draft or revision:

  1. Search for and open the asset in the content edit page.
  2. In the Revisions widget, select the draft or revision you want to publish. Brightspot loads the selected version in the content edit form.
  3. Do one of the following:
    • Click Publish.
    • Press Alt-S (Windows) or Ctrl--s (Mac).

See also:

Naming revisions

By default, Brightspot labels revisions with a timestamp and a username. You can also add a descriptive name to a revision.

To name a revision:

  1. Search for and open the asset in the content edit page.

  2. In the Revisions widget, click the revision you want to name. A status bar appears at the top of the content edit form.

    ../../../../_images/status-bar-rename.png
  3. Click Name Revision. The Name Revision widget appears.

    ../../../../_images/rename-widget.png
  4. In the Name field, type a name for the revision.

  5. Click Save.

The revision’s name appears in the Named Past section of the Revisions widget; see example in the illustration Revisions widget.