Drafts

The first state of an asset is draft. You can create multiple drafts for an asset before publication, compare the changes between two drafts, republish an asset based on a previous draft, and merge a later draft into an earlier one.

See also:

Creating drafts

The initial content for an asset is the first draft. You can create additional drafts from previously saved drafts.

Creating an initial draft

To create an initial draft:

  1. In the Quick Start widget, click the content type for which you want to create a draft. The content edit form appears.
  2. In the content edit form, start authoring the asset.
  3. In the Editorial toolbar, click save.

After you save an initial draft, the content edit page starts tracking information about the asset’s drafts.

../../../../_images/revisions-first-draft.svg

Draft information in the content edit page

Referring to the previous illustration—

  • The Revisions widget appears in the content edit page listing the initial and subsequent drafts.
  • The item’s current state appears in the Editorial toolbar.
  • The initial draft remains in the content edit form.

See also:

Creating additional drafts

To create additional drafts:

  1. Search for and open the asset in the content edit page.
  2. In the Revisions widget, select a draft from which you want to create a new one. The draft’s information appears in the content edit form (see illustration Draft information in the content edit page).
  3. Under Edit, modify the item.
  4. In the Editorial toolbar, click save.

Brightspot saves the new draft, and lists it in the Revisions widget. In addition, the Side by Side tab reflects the differences between the two drafts.

../../../../_images/revisions-second-draft.svg

Comparing differences between two drafts

Comparing drafts

You can compare a previous draft with the latest draft.

To compare drafts:

  1. Search for and open the asset in the content edit page.
  2. In the Revisions widget, select the draft that you would like to compare to your latest draft.

Brightspot opens the draft in the content edit form, and displays the differences between the selected draft and the most recent draft in the Side by Side tab (see the illustration Comparing differences between two drafts).

Merging a revision into a draft

If you have a draft that is already in a workflow, you can update the draft without restarting the workflow. The following scenario provides an example.

  1. Mary creates a draft, and sends it to the first status in the workflow “Fact-Checking.”
  2. The next day, Mary realizes that she needs to update the draft, so she creates a new revision from it.
  3. While Mary is working on the new revision, John completes the workflow’s fact-checking stage and moves the draft to “Proofreading.”
  4. Mary finishes her new revision, and merges it into the draft. The draft remains in the “Proofreading” status—instead of going back to “Fact-Checking.”

To merge a previous revision into a draft:

  1. Search for and open the asset in the content edit page.

  2. In the Revisions widget, click the draft you want to revise. The draft must be in a workflow.

    ../../../../_images/draft-in-workflow.svg

    Brightspot loads the draft in the content edit form.

  3. In the Revisions widget, click New Revision. The New Revision widget appears.

    ../../../../_images/new-revision.png
  4. Type a name for the revision and click Create. Brightspot adds the new revision under In Progress in the Revisions widget (see the illustration New revision in content edit form).

  5. Under Edit, modify the revision. You can compare the new revision with the base draft under the Side By Side tab.

  6. Save the revision by clicking save.

  7. Wait until the base draft advances in the workflow.

  8. Click Workflow, and in the Workflow widget, click Merge with Draft.

    ../../../../_images/merge-with-initial-draft.png

Brightspot merges the revision into the draft without changing the draft’s current status in the workflow.

See also:

Republishing from a draft

If you need to substantially update a published asset, it may be more efficient to return to a previous draft than to start an entirely new draft.

Caution

When you republish from a previous draft, Brightspot temporarily removes the published asset from your site, and visitors will not be able to view the asset. Visitors will be able to see the asset after you publish the new version.

To republish from a draft:

  1. Search for and open the asset in the content edit page.

  2. In the Revisions widget, under Past, select one of the versions labeled Draft.

    ../../../../_images/revisions-widget-past-drafts.svg
  3. Click save. Brightspot creates a new draft in the Revisions widget, and retains the new draft in the content edit form.

  4. Under Edit, modify the asset.

  5. Click Publish.

Brightspot publishes the new version that visitors now see.