Archiving and Deleting Content

Brightspot provides two operations for removing content: archiving and deleting.

  • Archiving—Visitors cannot view the content, but the content is still in Brightspot’s database. You can restore archived content so that visitors can view it.
  • Deleting—Permanently removes content from Brightspot’s database, so you cannot restore it. When you delete content, you comply with GPDR’s “right to be forgotten.”

See also:

Archiving Content

To archive content:

  1. Search for and open the item in the content edit page.

  2. If the References widget lists items that refer to this item, replace or remove those references. For example, if you are archiving an image, and the image appears as a lead in an article, then replace or remove the image in the referring article.

  3. In the Editorial Toolbar, click settings, and select Archive.

    ../../../_images/action-menu-archive.png
  4. In the confirmation prompt, click OK.

Brightspot archives the item, and displays an indication in the content edit form. Visitors cannot view the item, but Brightspot retains the item in the database.

../../../_images/pubArchived.png

See also:

Restoring Archived Content

To restore archived content:

  1. Search for and open the archived item in the content edit page.

    Tip

    In the search panel, you can filter for content with status Archived. For details, see Filtering Search Results.

  2. In the Editorial Toolbar, click settings, and select Restore.

    ../../../_images/action-menu-delete-restore.png

    Action menu with options to restore and delete content

Brightspot restores the item, and visitors can now view it.

See also:

Permanently Deleting Content

Warning

The following procedure permanently deletes an item from the database, and you cannot restore it.

To permanently delete content:

  1. Search for and open the archived item in the content edit page.

    Tip

    In the search panel, you can filter for content with status Archived. For details, see Filtering Search Results.

  2. In the Editorial Toolbar, click settings, and select Delete Permanently (see illustration Action menu with options to restore and delete content).

  3. In the confirmation prompt, click OK.

Brightspot deletes the item from the database.

See also: