Assigning permissions to content on multiple sites

In a single-site environment, the one site is the owner of all content items, and, by default, all users on the site have access to those items. In a multi-site environment, the content edit pages include the Sites widget, which provides options for setting the site owner of a content item and for granting other sites access to the item.

To assign permissions to content to multiple sites:

  1. In the content edit page, scroll down to the Sites widget. (If you don’t see a Sites widget, contact your Brightspot administrator to determine if you have permissions to the widget or if you are working on a multiple site version.)
  2. From the Owner list, select one of the following options:
    • None—Any user has access to the item.
    • A site or site category—All roles associated with the site have access to the item.
  3. From the Access list, add additional sites whose roles can access the item:
    • None—Roles not associated with the site selected in step 2 cannot access this item.
    • All Others—All roles can access this item.
    • Some Others—Roles associated with the selected sites have access to the item.

Below are some examples of permissions and multiple sites.

../../../_images/multiple-site-access-some.png ../../../_images/multiple-site-access-none.png
Owner of the item is the site Asteroid Hunters. All roles associated with this site can view and edit the content in Brightspot. In addition, all roles associated with the site Stargazers can view and edit the content in Brightspot. No other roles have access to the item. Owner of the item is the site Asteroid Hunters. All roles associated with this site can view and edit the content in Brightspot. No other roles have access to the item.

Note

The All Sites Accessible and Accessible Sites settings override what you select in the Access list. For details, see the table Site settings.

See also: