Shared Dashboards

A shared dashboard is available for use by all Brightspot users. It can be created by any user who has the required dashboard permission.

A shared dashboard is a versionable content type. A newly created dashboard is the first revision of the dashboard item. The revision goes “live” in the sense that it is immediately available for selection by other users. If the first revision of the dashboard is modified, saving the changes results in a second revision, which automatically becomes the live revision. Subsequent dashboard modifications result in additional dashboard revisions. A dashboard cannot have draft revisions.

Past revisions cannot be modified or deleted. However, a past revision can be compared to other shared revisions, modified, and saved as the new live revision. Past revisions can also be renamed.

A shared dashboard can be archived, making it unavailable for use. An archived dashboard can be restored for use or permanently deleted, removing all revisions of the dashboard from the Brightspot database.

Working with Shared Dashboards

You can create a new shared dashboard, or you can select an existing one to use or modify.

  1. At the applicable system level, navigate to the Dashboard tab.

  2. From the Dashboard drop-down menu for selecting the type, click Shared.

    The Dashboard field appears.

    ../../../_images/dbpane1.png
  3. To select an existing shared dashboard or to create a new one, click the Dashboard field.

    The Select Dashboard Content Picker appears with a list of all available shared dashboards.

    ../../../_images/dbselect.png
    • To create a new shared dashboard, click New Dashboard. The Dashboard Edit Page appears for creating a shared dashboard.

    • To use an existing shared dashboard, select it from the list. You return to the Dashboard tab.

      To edit the shared dashboard, click the pencil icon. The Dashboard Edit Page appears, where you can edit, rename, or archive a shared dashboard.

      ../../../_images/dbpane2.png
  4. After navigating back from the Dashboard Edit Page to the Dashboard tab, configure the following widgets if you included them in the dashboard layout: Resources, Common Content, and Bulk Upload.

    Note

    The widgets available for configuration are dependent on the dashboard system level: global, site, role, or user.

  5. Click Save at the bottom of the Dashboard tab.

Creating a Shared Dashboard

  1. Using the Dashboard Edit Page:

    1. In the required Main tab of the Dashboard pane, set the widgets layout.

      Enter a shared dashboard name and create a widget layout. You can add as many columns as you need by clicking Add Dashboard Column. By default, columns are sized equally. For example, two columns are sized at 50%, and three columns at 33%. To resize the columns, use the resize bar, where each color on the bar represents a column.

      ../../../_images/editpage1.png

      For each column, click the name of the widgets to reside in the column. Reorder widgets in a column by dragging and dropping. You can also drag and drop widgets between different columns.

      You can add the same widget to your dashboard in multiple columns or tabs. For example, with two Recent Activity widgets on your dashboard, you could leave one filtered to display just your activity, and the other could show all activity on the site.

    2. Optionally, create additional tabs.

      A dashboard can have multiple tabs. Like Main, you can populate an optional tab with both standard Brightspot widgets and custom widgets. For example, the following dashboard includes an Analytics tab with custom widgets.

      ../../../_images/tabs.png

      In the Dashboard Edit page, click Tabs, then click Add Dashboard Tab. Enter the name of the tab as you want it to appear in the dashboard.

      Next, set the widgets layout for the optional tab as you did for the Main tab (step a).

    3. Click Save.

      The first version of the shared dashboard is created and is immediately available for use by all users. In addition, the Revisions widget appears, identifying the version that you just saved as Live.

    4. At the top of the Dashboard Edit Page, click Back to return to the Dashboard tab.

Editing a Shared Dashboard

  1. Using the Dashboard Edit Page:

    1. From the Revisions widget, click the version that you want to modify.

      By default, the Live revision is selected. You can modify the current or a past revision.

      To compare a past revision with the current one, click the previous version. The Side By Side tab is displayed. The past version is shown on the left and the most current version on the right. To make changes to the past version, go to the Edit tab.

      ../../../_images/editpage2.png
    2. Click Save.

      A new version is created and is immediately available for use by all Brightspot users.

    3. At the top of the Dashboard Edit Page, click Back to return to the Dashboard tab.

Renaming a Shared Dashboard

  1. Using the Dashboard Edit Page:

    1. From the Revisions widget, click a past published version to rename.

    2. From the Save widget, click Name Revision and enter a descriptive name.

      The new name is reflected in the Revisions widget.

      ../../../_images/revisions.png
    3. At the top of the Dashboard Edit Page, click Back to return to the Dashboard tab.

Archiving a Shared Dashboard

  1. Using the Dashboard Edit Page:

    1. From the Revisions widget, select the Live version.

    2. From the Publish widget, select Archive.

      The live version is removed from the web site. You can restore the live version, making it again available on the web site. Alternatively, you can permanently delete all versions of the dashboard from the Brightspot database.

      ../../../_images/save.png
    3. At the top of the Dashboard Edit Page, click Back to return to the Dashboard tab.

See also: