Work Streams

A work stream is an assignment that applies to one or more items. For example, if you discovered that some of your images lack proper metadata, you can group those images into a single work stream, and assign the work stream to one or more contributing users.

Creating a Work Stream

  1. From the Search Panel, do one of the following:

    1. Search for and select the items you want to include in a work stream.
    2. Open the Collection containing the items you want to include in a work stream, and select the individual items to include.
  2. In the Actions widget of the Search Panel, click New Work Stream. The New Work Stream widget appears.

    ../../../_images/new-work-stream.png
  3. In the Name field, type an identifying name for the work stream.

  4. In the Instructions field, type instructions for this work stream’s users.

  5. Under Assigned Entities, click add_circle_outline. A Selection Field appears.

  6. Set a user or a role. If you set a role, then all users associated with the role can contribute to the work stream.

  7. Click add_circle_outline for each user or role that you want to set.

  8. Click Save.

The new work stream appears in your Dashboard’s Work Streams widget; it also appears in the Work Streams widget of the other participating users.

../../../_images/work-streams-widget.png

Note

Depending on their permissions, users can modify or delete work streams to which they are assigned—even if they didn’t create those work streams. To prevent users from modifying or deleting work streams they didn’t create, have your Brightspot administrator restrict their permissions accordingly.

Modifying a Work Stream

  1. In your Dashboard’s Work Stream widget, click the work stream. The Edit Work Stream widget appears.

    ../../../_images/edit-work-stream.png
  2. Modify the fields in the widget; see Creating a Work Stream for details.

  3. Click Save.

Filtering Work Streams

You can filter the list of work streams to which you contribute.

  • In your Dashboard’s Work Stream widget, make a selection from the drop-down list. Depending on your selection, another drop-down list appears.
../../../_images/filters-for-work-streams.png

Brightspot updates the list of work streams.

Viewing a Work Stream’s Progress

You can view the list of users who have worked on items in a work stream.

  • In your Dashboard’s Work Streams widget, click the link for the number of users working on the work stream.
../../../_images/open-users-working-on.png

The Users Working On widget appears.

../../../_images/users-working-on.png

The following table lists the columns in the Users Working On widget.

Column Description
User User who started work on at least one item in the work stream.
Currently On Item on which user is currently working. If you click the item, it’s Content Edit Page opens. If user is not working on an item, N/A is displayed.
Completed Number of items in this work stream that user completed.

The Users Working On widget does not list items for which no user has started working.

Editing an Item in a Work Stream

If your Dashboard’s Work Streams widget lists available work streams, you can work on the items in those streams.

  1. In your Dashboard’s Work Streams widget, click Start or Continue for the work stream to which you want to contribute. The Content Edit Form appears for the next available item in the work stream.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • Modify the item as required.

      If the item is a draft, either publish it from the Editorial Toolbar, or save another draft — click settings then Save.

      It the item is a revision, publish it from the Editorial Toolbar.

      Brightspot displays the Content Edit Form for the next item in the work stream.

    • To skip this item and work on the next item in the work stream, click Skip.

    • To stop working on items in this work stream, click Stop. You can return to the item at a later time.

Deleting a Work Stream

  1. In your Dashboard’s Work Stream widget, click the work stream. The Edit Work Stream widget appears.
  2. Click Delete Permanently.