Workflows

A workflow is a mechanism that enforces a sequence of operations through which an item moves from initial draft to publication. Each mechanism is a set of statuses and transitions.

Creating Workflows

You can create different workflows for different types of items. For example, the workflow for an article can include first draft, final draft, and publication. The workflow for an image can include initial upload, cropping, and adding metadata.

  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Workflows. A New Workflow widget appears with the following statuses:
    • New—This status is typically the first in a workflow.
    • Published—This status is typically the last in a workflow.
  2. In the Name field, type a name for the workflow.
  3. In the Sites field, add sites to which the workflow applies (or leave blank to apply the workflow to all sites). For information about creating sites, see Creating Sites.
  4. In the Content Types field, select the content types to which this workflow applies.
  5. In the Actions field, do the following:
    1. Click Add Status. A new status box appears.
    2. Type the name of the status.
    3. In the previous status box, click Add Transition.
    4. Drag your mouse over the status box you created in step a. A transition box appears between the two status boxes.
    5. In the transition box, type a name for the transition.
    6. Click with the mouse outside of the transition box.
    7. Repeat steps a–f to add additional statuses and transitions.
  6. Click Save.

The following example is an illustration of a simple workflow for an article.

../../../_images/new-workflow.png

Simple workflow

After you save a workflow—

  • Brightspot saves the new workflow and lists it in the Workflows widget.
  • Each time you create a new item for the workflow’s content type, the Publish Widget displays a button for the next available transition. Referring to the above illustration, after you save a first draft of an article, the Publish widget contains a Submit button.
  • Brightspot saves a revision for each status in the workflow. You can retrieve those revisions from the Revisions widget. For details, see Revisions.
  • The item’s current status appears in the Publish widget and in the Recent Activity widget.
../../../_images/status-transition-buttons.svg
  • Items created before a workflow was created automatically enter the workflow—unless they are published. For example, if you saved an initial draft of an article, and your administrator later created the Simple workflow, your article has the status of New, and the button in the article’s Publish widget is Submit.

For a detailed discussion of an item’s statuses as it progress through a workflow, see Content States and Actions.

Modifying Workflows

  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Workflows. The Workflow widget appears with a list of existing workflows.
  2. Click the workflow you want to modify. Brightspot displays the workflow in the Edit Workflow widget.
  3. Modify the workflow; see Creating Workflows for details.

Deleting Workflows

  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Workflows. The Workflow widget appears with a list of existing workflows.
  2. Click the workflow you want to delete. Brightspot displays the workflow in the Edit Workflow widget.
  3. Click Archive.

Transitioning an Item Through a Workflow

  1. Open the item in the Content Edit Form.
  2. Perform the required edit for the item’s status. For example, if the item’s status is Pending Review, perform an editorial review to accept or reject the article.
  3. In the Publish widget, do the following:
    1. Enter an optional comment for the editor performing the next step in the workflow.
    2. Click the button for the next transition.
../../../_images/publish-widget.png

Brightspot retains a Revision of an item in each status. For example, referring to the Simple workflow, Brightspot saves a copy of the article in the Pending Review, Approved, Rejected, and Published statuses. You can retrieve the revision of an item in each of its statuses; for details, see Retrieving Previous Revisions.

Introducing Published Content into a Workflow

When you create a workflow for a particular content type, published items of that type are exempt from the workflow. However, you may want published items to go through a workflow, such as if you added a quality control step for spelling or graphic attributions.

  1. Search for the published item and open it in the Content Edit Form.
  2. In the Publish Widget, click Save Draft.

The item enters the work flow associated with its type; when the workflow is over, the new published revision overwrites the existing published revision.

Limiting Users’ Access to Workflow Transitions

You can limit users’ access to certain workflow transitions. For example, you may want one group of users to do only content editing, and another group of users to do only proofreading. This level of access control is available only for user roles, not for individual users.

  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Users & Roles.

  2. In the Roles widget, select the role whose available transitions you want to limit.

  3. In the Edit Tool Role widget, under the Main tab, under Permissions, select Some Types.

  4. Under Main Content Types, select Some Article (or the Some option for another content type associated with the workflow). A list of workflow transitions appears.

    ../../../_images/limit-role-transitions.png
  5. Clear the checkboxes for the transitions to which the role does not have access.

  6. Click Save.

Referring to the previous illustration, users associated with the role can submit articles for approval only.