Locking

In a collaborative environment, many editors may be working simultaneously on the same item, which opens the possibility of one editor overwriting the edits of another editor. To prevent conflicting edits, Brightspot locks content in three ways: content locking, manual locking, and field-level locking.

Content Locking

Brightspot automatically locks an item that you open in the Content Edit Form. The Publish Widget informs other users that the item is locked and by whom.

../../../_images/content-lock.svg

When an item is locked, the Save link is not available in the Publish widget, so editors cannot accidentally save any changes they make.

Brightspot does not automatically update the Publish widget when the locking user has released the item. You must reload the item in the Content Edit Form to see if the item is unlocked.

Overriding a Content Lock

You can override a content lock if you have sufficient permission.

  1. Open the item in the Content Edit Form.

  2. In the Publish widget, click Ignore Lock. The Publish widget displays a message you are ignoring the content lock, and also displays the normal links and buttons for editing the item.

    ../../../_images/ignore-content-lock.png
  3. Edit the item as necessary.

  4. Click Save.

If you don’t see Ignore Lock in the Publish widget, ask your Brightspot administrator to unlock the item.

Enabling or Disabling Content Locking at the Item Level

  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Sites & Settings.
  2. In the Sites & Settings widget, click Global. The Edit Global widget appears.
  3. In the Edit Global widget, under UI, from the Content Locking drop-down list, select one of the following:
    • Automatic—Brightspot automatically locks the item when a user opens it in the content edit form.
    • Manual—Editors must manually lock an item after opening it in the content edit form. For details about manually locking an item, see Manually Locking an Item.
    • Disabled—Content locking is not available at the item level. Locking remains available at the field level; for details, see Field-Level Locking.

With content locking disabled, two editors can simultaneously modify an item, and one of their edits will be lost. Brightspot displays a special icon in the Publish widget indicating this possibility. For example, Michelle and Michael are both working on the same item in their Content Edit Forms. Michelle saved a change; when Michael saves his changes, they will overwrite Michelle’s. Brightspot displays a special icon in Michelle’s Publish widget indicating she may lose her changes.

../../../_images/content-overwrite-icon.svg

Manually Locking an Item

If content locking at the item level is set to manual, you can manually lock an item as you work on it.

  1. Open the item in the Content Edit Form. The Publish widget displays a indicating the item is unlocked.

    ../../../_images/manual-lock.png
  2. In the Publish widget, click the lock. The Publish widget displays a indicating other editors cannot modify the item.

    ../../../_images/manual-unlock.png
  3. Edit the item as required.

  4. In the Publish widget, click to unlock the item.

See also:

Field-Level Locking

If you disable content locking as described in Enabling or Disabling Content Locking at the Item Level, Brightspot automatically activates field-level locking. In this situation, Brightspot locks fields on a first-come, first-served basis. For example, Adam opens an article and makes an edit in the headline field. At this point, Brightspot locks the headline field in favor of Adam. Alice opens the same article and tabs into the headline field. At this time Alice sees a message that the field is locked.

../../../_images/field-level.png

Field-Level Locking in Content Edit Form

When Adam saves the item, Brightspot releases the lock and Alice can now make edits in the headline field.

Brightspot does not automatically update the message when the locking user has released the field. You must reload the item in the Content Edit Form to see if the field is unlocked.

Manually Unlocking a Field

  1. Open the item in the Content Edit Form.
  2. Tab into the required field. A lock appears above the field (see the illustration Field-Level Locking in Content Edit Form).
  3. Click Unlock. Brightspot unlocks the field.
  4. Edit the field as required.
  5. In the Publish widget, click Save.

If clicking the lock does not unlock the field, ask your Brightspot administrator to unlock it.

Disabling Field-Level Locking

By default, Brightspot turns on field-level locking when an administrator turns off content locking as described in Enabling or Disabling Content Locking at the Item Level. You can modify this default.

  1. From the Navigation Menu, select Admin > Sites & Settings.
  2. In the Sites & Settings widget, click Global. The Edit Global widget appears.
  3. In the Edit Global widget, under UI, set Disable Field Locking?.
  4. Click Save.

With content locking disabled, two editors can modify a field at the same time, and one of their edits will be lost.

Caution

With field-level locking disabled, Brightspot provides no indication to editors that their saved changes may be overwritten by another editor. To preserve the integrity of edits, always enable one of the following: field-level locking, manual locking, or automatic locking.